In Uncategorized

The Trinidad & Tobago Men’s Under 19 15s & Senior Women’s 10s National Rugby Teams are scheduled to depart on July 17 & 18, 2019, respectively, for the 2019 Rugby Americas North (RAN) Men’s Under 19 15s & Senior Women’s 10s Tournament, which is scheduled to take place at the Bellevue Plantation Polo Fields in Barbados, from July 18 to 21, 2019.

The Men’s U19 Team is expected to depart on July 17, 2019, at 6:30 p.m. and the Senior Women’s Team, on July 18, 2019, at 9:05 a.m.

After the disappointment of last weekend’s 2019 Rugby Americas North (RAN) Sevens Tournament in the Cayman Islands, the Trinidad & Tobago Rugby Football Union (TTRFU) is moving on and concentrating on the 2019 RAN Men’s Under 19 & Senior Women’s 10s Tournament in Barbados.

The Teams are laden with talent and represent the future of rugby in Trinidad & Tobago, as in accordance with the Union’s Development Plan, all athletes will migrate into the Senior National Programme thereby forming a cluster of rugby at the National level for the next ten (10) years.

After the Senior Women’s Team winning the 2017 RAN Senior Women’s Tournament and the Men’s Under 19 Team placing third in the RAN Men’s Under 19 Tournaments in 2015, 2016 and 2017, the National Teams were denied the opportunity of representing their country in 2018 as a result of lack of funding.

The Technical Committees of both teams have worked assiduously and must be commended for hitting the ground running and securing their respective team’s sponsorship for these tournaments.

We wish to thank all the Sponsors for their tremendous support of both teams and hope that this will be a long standing relationship with the TTRFU, to ensure that the youths are encouraged in their endeavour to represent Trinidad & Tobago at the International level.

Special thanks are also to be sent to the athletes, parents and friends of rugby for their support in making it possible for the teams to travel to Barbados.

The National Teams will be presented on Monday, July 15, 2019, at the V.I.P. Room, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port-of-Spain, at 5:00 p.m. and members of the Media are invited to attend.