In Uncategorized

The University of the West Indies (UWI) Rugby Football Club will host the first in a series of Seven-A-Side Tournaments at the St. Augustine Campus on Saturday, November 3, 2018 and Sunday, November 4, 2018.

Play is scheduled to commence at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, with the School Girls and the Male & Female Under 18s taking the field. Sunday’s programme will feature Senior Men’s & Women’s competitions and will kick off at 9:00 a.m.

The Trinidad & Tobago Rugby Football Union’s (TTRFU) Sevens Series will take place on five (5) consecutive weekends:

  1. UWI 7s, UWI Campus, St. Augustine – November 3 & 4, 2018
  2. YTC 7s, Youth Training Centre, Arouca – November 10 & 11, 2018
  3. Police 7s, St. James Barracks – November 17 & 18, 2018
  4. Rainbow 7s, Marabella Recreation Grounds – November 24 & 25, 2018
  5. Harvard 7s, St. Mary’s College Grounds – December 1 & 2, 2018

Trinidad & Tobago is the only country in the Caribbean which has a Seven-A-Side Rugby Series. These competitions assist in the continued development and spread of the sport within the country.

The TTRFU Executive Committee commends the five clubs for taking up the challenge of independently hosting these tournaments.

This initiative was started by the Trinidad & Tobago Police Service (TTPS) Rugby Section, who will be hosting the 20th version of the event this year.

The series will also assist the TTRFU National Technical Committees at all levels to review the talent on display for selection to the various National Teams as well as the TTRFU Fixtures Committee in seeding and developing a ranking of local clubs.

The vision for 2019 is to invite clubs from outside of Trinidad & Tobago to increase the quality of play in this competition and promote it under sport tourism, the area in which Trinidad & Tobago is heading.