In Uncategorized

World Rugby has confirmed that three nominations for the vacant seat on World Rugby’s Executive Committee have been received. The election will take place at the international federation’s annual meeting of Council on 12 May, 2021.

The nominations received by the 12 April deadline are:

  • Cristina Flores (Rugby Americas North) nominated and proposed by Rugby Americas North and seconded by Oceania Rugby
  • Ada Milby (Asia Rugby) nominated and proposed by Asia Rugby and seconded by South Africa Rugby Union
  • Jonathan Webb (Rugby Football Union) nominated and proposed by the Rugby Football Union and seconded by Rugby Australia

To be eligible for the position, candidates need to be representatives of a union or regional association on the World Rugby Council. The vacancy arose following Gareth Davies’ departure as a representative of the Welsh Rugby Union on the Council earlier this year.

The nominee who receives the most votes from the 51 available on the Council votes will required to be elected to the Executive Committee to serve until the end of the committee’s current term in 2024. The voting process will be electronic and independently audited by PwC.

With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic making it challenging for meetings to go ahead as scheduled, World Rugby has confirmed that the schedule of May Council and committee meetings will be held remotely.