This Saturday (April 27, 2024), regional rugby action returns to the shores of Trinidad and Tobago, as the locals face off against rivals, Guyana, in the Rugby Americas North (RAN) Senior Men’s 15s Championship competition. The first leg of this home and away fixture kicks-off at 4:00 p.m., at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain.

Shaking off the cobwebs will be no easy feat for the ‘Green Machine’, who last saw Senior Men’s 15s action in 2019. Competitors, Trinidad & Tobago, faced both Barbados and USA Rugby South in Trinidad and Tobago last year and were repeatedly victorious.

Rising to the challenge, Guyana’s Team consists of a mix of local and foreign-based athletes, including US-based veteran Vallon Adams, as Vice Captain. He leads the charge alongside returning Skipper, Jamal Angus. The Guyanese Technical Team includes Head Coach, Larry Adonis, Assistant Coach, Oslyn Oliver and Manager, Petal Adams.

Looking to build upon their successful campaigns last year, T&T’s side boasts a couple debutants, skillfully blending youth and experience, which may be the key to unlocking the Guyanese defence this weekend.

Long-standing Captain, Joseph Quashie, is leading the charge alongside some familiar faces including Nigel Ballington, the lead try scorer in the local league last year and the Caribs RFC flyer, Jonathan Taylor, to name a few. The Trinidad and Tobago Team is coached by an all-star cast of former National Players including Head Coach, Dale Trotman, Assistant Coach, Brendan O’Farrell and Team Manager, Bernard Yetming.

The match will be streamed live on YouTube via 360Tv.

The Team Lists are as follows:

Trinidad & Tobago: Joseph Quashie (C), Marcus Daniel, Ernest Wright, Trizine Mc Clean, Travis Carmichael, Christopher Daniel, Wasim Ollivierre, Ronaldo Spencer, Jamal Clark, Andreas Yorke, Kereem Figaro, Nigel Ballington, Jonathan Stewart, Nathaniel Cadiz, Jeremy Bonas, Christopher Hudson, Jimmel Doyle, Karlon Alexander Marcellus McHardy, Shakeel Dyte, Anderson Joseph, James Phillip and Jonathan Taylor.

Guyana: Jamal Angus (C), Vallon Adams, Owen Adonis, Rondel McArthur, Godfrey Broomes, Lancelot Adonis, Makayah Smith, Daniel Anderson, Lionel Holder, Shawn David, James Osborne, Michael Barrow, Odidi Douglas, Scott Garraway, Osbert Robertson, Kelvon Grant, David Garrett, Sean Phillips, David Waldron, Elisha Crawford, Matthew Talbot, Adam Yhip, Godfrey Pollydore and Kevin Braithwaite.